Reviews

Book Subscription Box Review: FairyLoot

FairyLoot: February ‘Emperors & Fugitives’ Box

Okay, so if you don’t know what a book subscription box then;

  1. Where have you been?
  2. Check out my blog post about them HERE.

FairyLoot is another big Book Subscription service.  The way I see it is it’s the UK’s equivalent of the US’s OwlCrate.  I’ve ordered one of their boxes in the past (you can read the review HERE) but I made that order as a single purchase and haven’t been able to secure a place as a subscriber since.  BUT I FINALLY DID IT, managing to get a place as a subscriber for this company is part of the reason I’ve decided to give Owlcrate a break (among other more significant reasons).  I loved the box I ordered way back then and I’ve loved most of the boxes I’ve seen since then.  I researched what book would be included in this box since I like to do this and I had never heard of it but was intrigued immediately. So without further ado lets get into the unboxing/review.

DSC_0289

Okay, so way back when I first ordered this box it wasn’t that strong.  It worked well, but the cardboard was a little weak, it may just be my imagination but the box is sturdier now.  I could be imagining that but yeah.  I still love the logo for this company.

DSC_0292

Something cool about FairyLoot’s boxes is the quote they include on the boxes (I think they sometimes change it up) but it’s just a cute little extra touch that shows an extra level of care that’s been put into creating this product.  I also really love the fact that they have a colour scheme of purple (the packing worms are purple and as you’ll see in March’s review it carries through).

“Fairy tales are more than true: not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.” – Neil Gaiman, Coraline

DSC_0293

I like this introduction/information card art, the other side is nicer (I’ll include it at the end) – it does fit with the theme and it can be used as an art piece.  But I just don’t really like the picture itself (meaning the art is good but it isn’t a design I would put up). The information side is clear, descriptive and quite frankly, beautiful.

DSC_0295

So first thing I found in the purple packing worms was this full size candle created by Happy Piranha.  It’s called Kalusian Sunset and was named by February’s featured books author. I don’t know what the scent it, it smells a bit florally – I love the smell but think I can only have it in small doses. It actually had melted in transit and I was so worried it had melted throughout my box, thankfully it had not.  I also love the designs on the candle, both the wrap around and lid.

DSC_0297

Next up, sticking to the scented things, we have this Celestial Gunpowder bath bomb by Bathing Beauties.  I think the description is cute, “If you’re on the run through the galaxy, you’re going to need a Celestial Gunpowder Bath Bomb to keep you squeaky clean.  Okay, maybe not, but it might help make the whole ‘on-the-run’ thing better, right?” It’s cupcake scented, which I am all for, and was made exclusively for this box.

DSC_0298

Now this is possibly the coolest item included in this box; a Baby Groot bobble head keychain by Funko.  Even if you don’t like superhero movies, or specifically Guardians of the Galaxy, no one can say they don’t love Baby Groot.  He’s possibly the best Marvel character on screen at the moment. He lives happily on my Percy Jackson keychain.  I love him, he’s so cute!

DSC_0300

A more practical item, this Illuminae quote coaster by Read At Midnight was included and I love it.  It’s really sturdy, an actual coaster, and is really pretty.

“She is catalyst. She is chaos. I can see why he loves her.”

Up next we have a sampler for The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr.  I couldn’t get a photograph of it but this was an accordion sampler ant it was just really cool.  It sounds really interesting – similar to The Memory Book by Lara Avery- and heartbreaking.

DSC_0309

Up next we have a bookmark by Till and Dill.  I don’t really care for this bookmark and I’ve put it in my ‘guests take a bookmark pile’ so someone else can appreciate it.

DSC_0310

Something I’m really excited about; a discount code for MyBookmark – I love their bookmarks.  They’re 3D and poke out at the ends of your books, like feet!  But they’re really expensive, especially with shipping to Australia, so I can only get them when I have a discount code (it’s how I got my first one).

Next up we’ve got this double sided Throne of Glass print by Taratjah.  One side has Dorian, the other had Manon.  I actually haven’t read the Throne of Glass series (I read the first two/three) but I really liked the picture of Dorian so I put that up on the back of my bedroom door.

DSC_0314

The last item before the book is this cute little canvas pouch with a quote from rebel of the Sands on it, it was designed by Alisse Courtier.  It’s the perfect size to hold all my USB’s and SD cards!

 

And now for the book…

DSC_0319

Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza. I hadn’t heard anything about this title before FairyLoot announced their theme and I researched what book would fit with it, and I’m glad it ended up on my radar. It sounds like a great sci0fi adventure and I think it’ll be a great read.


CROWN PRINCESS RHIANNON TA’AN WANTS VENGEANCE.

The only surviving heir to an ancient Kalusian dynasty, RHEE has spent her life training to destroy the people who killed her family. Now, on the eve of her coronation, the time has finally come for Rhee to claim her throne – and her revenge.

ALYOSHA is a Wraetan who has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. Despite his popularity, Aly struggles with anti-Wraetan prejudices and the pressure of being perfect in the public eye.

Their paths collide with one brutal act of violence: Rhee is attacked, barely escaping with her life. Aly is blamed for her presumed murder.

The princess and her accused killer are forced to go into hiding – even as a war between planets is waged in Rhee’s name. But soon, Rhee and Aly discover that the assassination attempt is just one part of a sinister plot. Bound together by an evil that only they can stop, the two fugitives must join forces to save the galaxy.

In this exhilarating debut for fans of Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles and Pierce Brown’s Red Rising trilogy, RHODA BELLEZA crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy.


The book and the items included with it came in a cute little dust bag with the FairyLoot symbol on it.  I didn’t know they did this but I think it’s such a cool thing to do.  Kind of like wrapping the book to keep the element of surprise but you get to keep the bag!

DSC_0315

Something FairyLoot does is include a mini magazine that features an interview with the author, books to read after you’ve read Empress of a Thousand Skies and the next month’s theme (which for March is Myths and Monsters, it’s their one year anniversary box so it’ll be purple and just full of amazingness!).  I like this as it allows the reader to really connect with the author, FairyLoot also include a letter from their authors so it’s like double the awesomeness!

DSC_0326

To my dearest, fiercest Fairylooters:
Excuse the mushiness, but it absolutely has to be said: it means the world to me you’re reading this.

I wrote Rhee and Aly because I’d always come back to this theme of expectation.  Our skin color, perceived gender and age, a million other things – they feed into expectations everyone else had, and as a young person it had been so easy for me to adopt this as truth.  To let someone else define my identity, to tell me who I was supposed to be.  That external pressure was key, in a way.  I’d felt this immense, impossible heat bearing down – so that the only way to survive was to form on my own terms.  Like that gem of truth was always in my DNA.  Aly and Rhee are different expressions of that idea.  And while they’re in a faraway galaxy, surrounded by advanced tech with an interplanetary war as a backdrop, they’re both trying to survive – in body, mind and spirit – and find their own truth.  I hope this speaks to you.  Ad at the very least, I hope you like the fight scenes. 🙂 

DSC_0328

And of course a signed bookplate!

 

Final Thoughts:

I really liked this box, in fact I loved it. It was filled with SO MUCH and it fit all the expectations I’ve developed about what I expect from a YA book subscription service.  Everything was of a high quality, fit perfectly with the theme and was something I have used or can see myself ctually using.  I’m really impressed with this box and I’m glad I was able to secure a subscription so I can see what other amazing products they include in future boxes!

DSC_0294

You can order your FairyLoot box HERE for £26 pounds (not including shipping). If you want to check out past boxes you can click HERE and HERE.

 

My Links:

Goodreads : Becca Winter

Instagram : becca_theory

Twitter : @Becca_Theory

Facebook : The Troubles And Woes Of A Bookworm

Becca

xxx

The opinions expressed in this review are mine and mine alone.  This post is not sponsored I paid for the box myself.

One thought on “Book Subscription Box Review: FairyLoot

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s